About Church Life

The Sacraments

Through the sacraments we are infused with God’s grace. They nourish and strengthen us as they express and build our faith.

A sacrament is a saving act of Jesus Christ, ministered through His Church.

Picture of dove with an olive branch representing Gods Grace

This means that in the celebration of every sacrament it is Jesus Christ who is present and makes the first move in leading us to salvation.

The purpose of the sacraments is to make us holy (that is, to make us whole), to build up the body of Christ and ultimately, to give worship to God. Through words, signs and actions, they teach us, in a tangible way, the ever-loving mercy of God: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

The Seven Sacraments

There are seven sacraments of the Church: Baptism, Reconciliation (Confession), Holy Communion, Confirmation, Marriage, Holy Orders and the Sacrament of the Sick (formerly called Extreme Unction).

Receiving the Sacraments

Some sacraments we can receive more than once, to give us continued support in our daily lives. Primarily these sacraments are Reconciliation and Holy Communion. In addition, the Sacrament of the Sick, which was previously reserved for those about to die, can now be celebrated whenever there is a serious need for God’s blessing in our illness.

The sacraments are therefore essential parts of Catholic life, offering God’s support at those important times in our lives.

More Information

For more information on each sacrament, please see the links opposite or feel free to contact the Parish Priest by phone or using our Contact form.